Friendship

I was recently dismissed by one of my best friends for spending time with a man that she disapproves of. She told me that if I am going to date a man that she hates (based on a financial dispute that happened 14 years ago), she no longer wants me in her life. I am actually not dating him, but I did spend 2 hours with him.
I love her very much and feel a bit heart-broken. However, I do not feel that I should be forced to choose. Give me an ultimatum and I will run the other direction … and really damn fast .
This is my life, and I will form my own opinions of people based on my own personal experience. I am well aware that I may be right and I may be wrong. Perhaps this guy will turn out to be less than I perceive. However, I will NOT be told who I can and cannot spend my time with. I will not be bullied, controlled or manipulated.
I have really really tried to wrap my head around this. But I am feeling myself ever so quietly letting go.
If you want to throw our beautiful friendship in the trash so effortlessly and without remorse, I don’t think you are truly my friend.

Please reply or share a story

