Forgiveness

In the spirit of forgiveness and healing, I thought of my x-husband today. When I knew our marriage was over and I asked him for a divorce, I just wanted him to leave. I just wanted him to get out. I didn’t want the equity in his three homes, I didn’t want alimony, I didn’t want any of his shit, I just wanted him and his bad attitude to go away.
 
He then sued me for $80,000. I was SO not expecting that. My family and friends were blown away. In the end he got nothing, not a dime. The judge said NO WAY. A year and a half of wasted energy and emotions, because he couldn’t let it go.
 
A couple of years later, I ran into him. I walked up to him, gave him a big ol’ bear hug, and congratulated him on his new marriage. We exchanged pleasantries, and then, out of the blue, he said he was sorry that he was so bitter, all that time ago. I said no worries.
 
Now when I see him I always smile, and I feel so much better. I don’t want to carry all that ugliness with me. I let it go.
Please reply or share a story

