Empty Shell

Him … “I am an empty shell.”
Me … “No, you are not.”
Him … “I guess it depends on what one is talking about. In regard to hot air I am indeed full of something. Therefore, I am not an empty shell. However, in regard to me being empty emotionally AND having little to no hope of ever fostering a meaningful relationship with anyone EVER … I definitely fit the bill.”
Me … “Dude, that is HARSH.”
Him … ” From the mouth of the woman who tells it like it is … THAT, is the stoic isolation that I practice to deal with the loneliness that I endure. That’s why I am so stand-offish with you. You find chinks in my armour. I know that’s just you being you and I don’t expect you to be different. I’m just damaged goods.”
Please reply or share a story

